As the last recipe I put up a few days ago proved fairly popular, I thought I’d share another with you…This is another easy recipe that can be made with little people, I made it with my almost 3 year old and we had lots of fun!!

I also got this one from BBC Good Foods.

The ingredients you need are as follows… 

225g Cold Butter or Margarine

350g Plain Flour

100g Caster Sugar

280g Mincemeat 

1 Small Egg

Icing Sugar to dust 

To make the pastry, rub 225g cold butter or margarine into 350g plain flour, then mix in 100g caster sugar and a pinch of salt.
Mix the pastry into a ball and knead it briefly. 

The dough will be like shortbread dough. 

Preheat the oven to 200C/gas 6/fan 180C. 

Use a rolling pin and cutter to make 24 little patties (12 slightly bigger than the other 12) and use a 12 cake tin and press the larger patty into each hole the press a small walnut-sized ball of mincemeat into the pattie.

Take the slightly smaller pattie and cover the pies. 

You can beat 1 small egg and brush the tops of the pies. I forgot to do this, but they will look far more attractive if you do this. 

Bake for 20 (Start looking after 15 minutes as I left mine in a little too long!) cook until golden. Leave to cool in the tin for 5 minutes, then remove to a wire rack. Lightly dust with icing sugar, this also hides and the over cooking!! 

My son loved helping to make these and I love smell of mince pies, these really smell of Christmas to me!!

Thanks for reading 

Felicity xx

Leave a Reply

